Posted in Mommy's Diary

Oral Glucose Tolerance Test (OGTT)

Being pregnant does not only mean that you JUST have to carry a small person inside your small tummy for nine months. It also means your body needs to undergo a series of laboratories aside from ultrasound, randomly, for nine months as well. One of these laboratories is the OGTT-which I hated the most.

OGTT is when they have to extract blood from you four (4) times. Yes, four (4) times. I have a bit of background of OGTT, because just this early 2016 I undertake the same procedure when my Doctor requested me to do this thing because I fainted suddenly. And through this procedure, we find out that I had a Hypoglycemia (Low Blood Sugar). So, how’s the process? It’s like this. You have to present the laboratory request from your OB and present it to the laboratory clinic. They will instruct you to have a fasting for 8-10 hours. Upon arriving at the laboratory clinic, they will extract you blood from you, that is the first extraction. After that, they will give you that toooooo sweeeeeet mixture of sugar and water, about the same quantity of Yakult. Some clinic, have concentrated orange flavor instead of water and sugar. You have to finish it as soon as possible; they will not allow you to drink water. And the MOST IMPORTANT thing is that, YOU SHOULD NOT THROW UP THE SOLUTION. Or else you will have to repeat it again. One hour after finishing the solution, they will again extract blood from you-Second Extraction. Then after every hour is another extraction for the Third and Fourth Extraction. You cannot eat anything until you finished the procedure. You really have to endure the sweet taste of the solution, I almost vomit it but I had managed to prevent it from coming out.

I was 6 months pregnant when my OB requested me to have an OGTT. Though I really hate it, I had no choice. I was confident I’d passed the test because we don’t have diabetes in our family. On the contrary, as I said earlier, I was diagnosed with Hypoglycemia-the opposite of diabetes. Yet my OB wants me consult with Dr. Ang, though my sugar is not really high. Dr. Ang instructed me monitor my blood sugar at home. I had to buy a Gluco Meter a handy device that lets you check your blood sugar at home, in the office, in the groceries, anywhere. I bought mine at South Star Drug Store for only Php 1, 400. 00, its brand name is ACCU-CHECK Active.

download (1)

The package comes with free 10 pieces strips and 30 pieces lancet (needles). Strips and Lancets are both disposable. The Strips come with a code. When you buy the strips, they will ask for the code of the strips you were using. I was able to buy spare strips for Php 670.00 at Generika Drug Store for 25 pcs  (If I’m not mistaken). If you don’t want to buy the device, you got to go the drug store near you and have you blood sugar tested right there for Php 25.00-30.00 per test.  As for me, it is not convenient because I have work but for stay-at-home preggy, it could be applicable for them.

In monitoring the blood sugar, Dr. Ang instructed me to test my blood when I wake up, that means fasting. Then took another test two hours after eating. For example, if you wake up at 6:00 am, you have to take the test, then you eat at 6:30 am, you have to take another test at 8:30 am. Then take another test two hours after every meal.

What makes it difficult for me is that if I eat less, my blood sugar drops – hypoglycemia takes in. When someone had hypoglycemia, you don’t have enough energy to even move, you feel dizzy and helpless in the sense that it seems like you cannot control your exhausted body, worst is that when you collapse which happened to me many times. When you have high blood sugar, diet is very essential. Less soft drink, less carbs, more exercise. But when you are pregnant, it is hard to control your diet, let’s face it. What you need is self-discipline.

The oral glucose tolerance test (OGTT) measures the body’s ability to use a type of sugar, called glucose, which is the body’s main source of energy. It can be used to diagnose prediabetes, diabetes, gestational diabetes (diabetes during pregnancy). Gestational diabetes needs to be recognized and treated promptly because it can cause health problems for mother and baby. It is not permanent though. Once the baby is born, blood sugar will most likely return to normal quickly.

Too much can destroy you, but too little can also do the same. Remember not to deprive yourself so that you will not come to a point where you will overindulged because of unsatisfied and unfulfilled cravings. Just self-discipline fellow ladies.

Author:

TheTipsyRoyalPen is a journal of a frustrated blogger who aspire to inspire her readers on how she faces her trials in life ; She loves to shares her personal experiences and misadventures when it comes to being a wallflower, a first time mother, working-mom, full-time-wife, an aspirant HR and a lady who could be everything she could be :) (Views and opinions in this blog are merely based on personal experiences therefore it does not stand for and/or characterize any brands, persons or organization.)

Leave a Reply

